I MINA'BENTE NUEBI NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN 2008 (SECOND) Regular Session

Executive Committee Resolution No. 183

Introduced by:

James V. Espaldon Edward J.B. Calvo <u>Frank F. Blas, Jr.</u> B. J.F. Cruz Mark Forbes Judith Paulette Guthertz, DPA Frank T. Ishizaki J. A. Lujan Tina Rose Muña Barnes A. B. Palacios, Sr. v. c. pangelinan R. J. Respicio Dr. David L.G. Shimizu Ray Tenorio J. T. Won Pat, Ed.D

Relative to commemorating the "Fiftieth (50th) Jubilee Anniversary" of the Dedication of the Cathedral-Basilica of *Dulce Nombre de Maria* in *Hagåtña*, Guam.

1 BE IT RESOLVED BY THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE OF I 2 MINA'BENTE NUEBI NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN:

WHEREAS, Archbishop Anthony S. Apuron, Metropolitan Archbishop and Chief Pastor of the *Dulce Nombre de Maria* Cathedral–Basilica of *Hagåtña*, Guam, proclaimed a year of jubilee aptly called "Jubilee Year of Grace, Joy and Gratitude" from April 20, 2007 to April 20, 2008, to commemorate the "Fiftieth (50th) Anniversary" of the Dedication of the Cathedral-Basilica of
 Dulce Nombre de Maria in Hagåtña, Guam; and

WHEREAS, the *Dulce Nombre de Maria* Cathedral-Basilica, the principal church of Guam and the Marianas, was first built in the island on a piece of property donated by *Chief Quipua* to Father Diego Luis de San Vitores, S.J. in 1668, starting as a small edifice made of wood and upon its construction dedicated as a church on February 2, 1669, under the title *"El Dulcissimo Nombre de Maria*, the Most Sweet Name of Mary"; and

9 WHEREAS, the principal church was destroyed by a typhoon in 10 October 1671, an earthquake in December 1909 and heavy bombing during 11 the war in July 1944. Construction for a provisional Cathedral was completed 12 in March 1945; and

WHEREAS, in 1911, the church was blessed with the special title, "Cathedral" during the consecration of its first bishop, Capuchin *Francisco y Mateo*. The title, "Cathedral" signifies that the church houses the cathedra of the bishop, the chair which represents his teaching authority over his congregation on Guam; and

WHEREAS, during the episcopacy of Capuchin Bishop William
Baumgartner, the current Cathedral was completed and dedicated on April
20, 1958; and

WHEREAS, the *Dulce Nombre de Maria* Cathedral was given a second title of Basilica in 1985, by Pope John Paul II, representing that the church is a chapel of the Holy Father, as witnessed by his visit to Guam in February 1981.

2

The Dulce Nombre de Maria Cathedral-Basilica is one of only a few churches in 1 2 the world to have the special distinction of being a Cathedral-Basilica; and

WHEREAS, the Dulce Nombre de Maria Cathedral-Basilica has expanded 3 4 to meet the growing needs of the community, first with the building of the 5 Blessed Sacrament Chapel, which was dedicated in December 1994, and 6 more recently, the Chapel of Saint Therese was dedicated in late 2007, to serve 7 as a unique place of worship for the island's faithful; and

8 WHEREAS, the ongoing construction of the National Museum of the 9 Dulce Nombre de Maria Cathedral-Basilica, will complement the existing 10 grounds of the church and will serve as a treasure chest of the rich and important history of the Catholic church in Guam, since the arrival of Pale San 11 12 Vitores to the momentous occasion we celebrate today, a period that spans 13 three hundred thirty-nine (339) years; and

14 WHEREAS, the Dulce Nombre de Maria Cathedral-Basilica has served as 15 a special place in Guam, throughout its existence, and holds a special place in 16 the hearts of Guam's people who have celebrated special moments in their 17 lives within this great edifice; now, therefore, be it

18 **RESOLVED**, that the Executive Committee of I Mina'Bente Nuebi Na 19 Liheslaturan Guåhan does hereby, on behalf of I Liheslaturan Guåhan and the 20 people of Guam, commemorates the "Fiftieth (50th) Jubilee" celebration of the 21 dedication of the Cathedral-Basilica of Dulce Nombre de Maria and commends the Archdiocese of Hagåtña on this special occasion; and be it further 22

23 **RESOLVED**, that the Speaker and the Chairperson of the Executive Committee certify, and the Secretary of the Legislature attest to, the adoption 24

- 1 hereof, and that copies of the same be thereafter transmitted to His Excellency
- 2 Anthony Sablan Apuron, Archbishop of Hagåtña and Pastor of the Dulce
- 3 Nombre de Maria Cathedral-Basilica; to the Very Reverend Monsignor James
- 4 L.G. Benavente, Rector of the *Dulce Nombre de Maria* Cathedral-Basilica; and to
- 5 the Honorable Felix P. Camacho, *I Maga'lahen Guåhan*.

DULY AND REGULARLY ADOPTED BY THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE OF *I MINA'BENTE NUEBI NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN* ON THE 18TH DAY OF APRIL 2008.

JUDITH T. WON PAT, Ed. D. Speaker and Chairperson, Executive Committee

TINA ROSE MUÑA

TINA ROSE MUÑA BARNES Senator and Secretary of the Legislature